top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTeresa Moon

15 takeaways from our February sabbatical

Updated: Mar 27, 2023


First, I want to thank you. It is such a gift to know how much this life-giving community supports our organization and our intentional sabbatical each year. Your support and patience during February gave our strategic leaders and volunteers the invaluable gift of rest and reflection.


In a Christ-centered nonprofit like the Institute, our vision is a big one:

to enlarge a global community empowering next-generation Christians to influence today’s culture.

With such an important calling, each worker God has blessed us with needs space to refresh and rejuvenate – to stay in tune with the Creator. As we entered back into organizational life, we shared a time of reflection on our sabbaticals. Here are some beautiful and inspirational takeaways from your leaders.


How did you practice rest during sabbatical?

  • Slowing down. When I thought I should be more productive, I was able to relax and say, "No. This is enough." Unproductive can be very productive.

  • Loved having very long, unhurried, unguided conversations. Also, I got sick and the LORD gifted me with a physical rest – an invitation for a three-day devotional time.

  • I went on an online spiritual retreat, attended Spiritual Formation courses, and met up with former ICC families. Also just cuddling my little ones, going on car rides with my older children, reading books and just napping. It was really good.

  • Taking time to meditate in the morning over scripture. I wrote the passage in my own words as worship to the Lord. This was fantastic.

  • I finished my memoir! I read it aloud start to finish for my husband during the month; he would give feedback, and we would weep and laugh at the life we've led. Very special.

What did you learn during sabbatical?

  • It was difficult at first. It took some time before rest was felt/perceived/received as a gift, but it did happen!

  • My husband and I have transformed minds after sabbatical. We view our work, savings, and home differently. We are free.

  • I learned to be more honest with my desires/feelings while supporting safety for those around me.

  • God meant for me to be restored & healed.

  • I CAN SING! We did private karaoke and my husband said I sing like a champ. I was also able to see the complexity of Jesus, how the things he leads us through have so many layers.

Would you recommend a sabbatical to others?

  • Yes, if I take the time (and care) to share both potential benefits and my experience in a way that shows I am "for them", not telling them what they should do.

  • Absolutely. Although it can be like digging in sand (the hole just keeps filling up with other things), it is worth it to give your brain some space from one role to be able to sow into another. Space and rest bring clarity to our vision and purpose.

  • YES! Sabbatical is a gift. I will highly recommend this to friends/community… especially those serving in the ministries!

  • This practice of month-long sabbatical, ceasing from ICC work, has let me explore who I really am. I didn't know me. I now have much more confidence in myself.

  • This year, I felt an invitation from the Lord to invite the church leaders of my community to consider giving the gift of sabbatical to their pastor. I plan to make phone calls and write to the leaders I know this month. What would happen if Pastors were refreshed and encouraged in my community? I need to find out!

It has been so encouraging hearing these reflections. It’s essential to make space for ourselves and for God so that we can truly bring our best to his work.


Thank you for praying with and for us during the month of February. It is rare for organizations, let alone nonprofits, to invite their leaders to regularly practice sabbatical. I am so pleased ICC is an organization that values our people by providing experiences like this. It is such a profound privilege to serve you as a part of this life-giving community.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page