top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDr. Teresa Moon President and CEO Institute for

Dear Mom and Dad, I'm (not) fine

As we wrap up Mental Health Awareness month, my staff and I are praying for you and your family. I certainly can’t think of a previous May that has been so mentally and emotionally trying on so many people I know and love. I hope you know that you are strong, wonderful, and loved by our heavenly Father and by this community.

As you probably heard, I’m dedicating a lot of my time to helping parents of teens right now, who have a unique struggle during this pandemic, with my new video series and accompanying survey.

One of our own students, Gracie Wood, also finds the topic of teen mental health close to her heart. Last year, she wrote this spoken word piece as a public advocacy speech for our ICCFS tournament. It’s beautiful and poignant - and I feel compelled to share it with you during Mental Health Awareness Month.

Quick note: Parents, I encourage you to view this speech before showing it to your children due to the mature themes of depression and suicide mentioned.


For those of you finding yourselves in need of extra encouragement right now, you are not alone. This much change is difficult. Period.


Please take advantage of the free resources on our Peace in Pandemic webpage and my QuaranTEENed videos. Our team made them for you. We want you to know we are here for you.


For your mental and emotional health,

Teresa Moon President and CEO Institute for Cultural Communicators (ICC) teresa.moon@iccinc.org www.iccinc.org


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page