top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCindy Clarkin

Why I came back to ICC

Updated: May 1, 2022

In 2013, I helped start RI HOPE with my friend Jan. We hoped to build an ICC Chapter Community where our children and their friends could learn the art of public speaking. Through the years I have seen 100s of students transformed as they developed mastery in communication and confidence in leadership all of which provided vital skills for their future success. Now all of my children have graduated from high school and five of my older children are married and two have children of their own.


People often ask me why I am still volunteering nine years later.

Me with my daughter Lydia (in basketball sweatshirt) and the 2015 RI HOPE Student Leader Team


#1 - My nine children had grown so much from attending Communicators for Christ Conferences and being part of a speech club. They had learned important skills and built lifelong friendships. Today they are all amazing adults who love God, family and their neighbor. They are not perfect, and I pray for them to first know the love of Jesus above all worldly gain.

#2 - I have grown and learned so much and gained life-long friendships. The picture above was taken in my backyard at a dinner in 2020 with the friends who attended CFC Conferences with my family over 20 years ago. Back then there was very little training for the adults. At a CFC Conference we followed our children around from workshop to workshop and learned from the interns. We bought a few books and then we formed speech clubs and organized speech tournaments. This picture of four families represents 27 students who attended the CFC conferences at least once and many 3-4 times. Our children are still good friends today.

Can you tell that I am an extrovert and a connector? I deeply value community.


Why am I still ministering with the Institute for Cultural Communicators and RI HOPE? Short answer: transformation and training for students and parents. Many of you know that my youngest son, Andrew has not been in ICC for three years. When he was 10 years old, I started RI HOPE with my friend Jan for our daughters and their friends. Andrew joined that first year as a YCC student. The next year he was in Phase 1 of the Young Speakers Guild. Eventually he became a Student Leader, Apprentice at CFC, a Guild Inductee, a Recommended Staff Assistant at Ignite and iCON and a member of the Area Student Leader Team. All those years I was blessed to be a part of the journey. I loved mentoring him and the other student leaders. I love having a close up view as he was maturing and growing into a young man of influence.


He and his friends at RI HOPE were amazing teens (not perfect but filled with godly character and humility). When Kathy Souza came to visit our chapter, she described them as “Magical”. She was attracted by their kindness and love for her son, David. Now David Souza is a “Magical” Student Leader.



Through the years I have seen so many students transformed like Andrew and David.



I find it both challenging and rewarding to mentor young people. It really comes back to the Bible and the vision I had for my family and homeschool over 32 years ago. Psalm 127:3-5 and Deuteronomy 6: 4-9 have been the foundation for how I chose to spend my time, treasure, and talent. Every commitment takes time and investment. I have to ask myself, “Is it worth my family's involvement?” “Will this be life-giving?” “Will this line up with our family’s goals to grow in Christ and serve Him first?”


I have volunteered and joined dozens of organizations (church activities, sports teams, 4-H, scouts, AHG). Many of them claim that they teach leadership skills. In my experience none have compared to the intentional leadership training Andrew and I have received. ICC gave us Christ-Centered real-world skills like peacemaking and conflict resolution. Every time we stepped into an opportunity to be part of an intergenerational team, we experience collaboration and cultural communication. These are the long-term benefits that kept me coming back.


Here is one more reason that I am still involved with the Institute for Cultural Communicators and RI HOPE. I love the life-giving community and that includes not only the students but also the moms in my chapter, the ICC leadership and all of the people on the area team.

We often say in ICC, "We’re better together". Michael Hyatt said, “If your dream doesn’t require a team then your dream is too small.” We can accomplish so much more for the Kingdom of God together. And of course…my sanguine temperament loves making connections and new friendships.


Would you like to join the life-giving community of RI HOPE and the Institute for Cultural Communicators?


Reach out today: Cindy.Clarkin@ICCinc.org



108 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page